Skip to content

Does medical weight loss work?

October 12, 2009

Going to a weight loss clinic is something I always thought of but never really could afford. My thought was that I would be shelling out money for something that just wasn’t going to work in the short or long term. Places like NutraSystem, Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers all involved eating prepackaged meals or counting a bunch of numbers to determine what I could eat, and I just didn’t have time to go through the hassle.

Then so-called Medical Weight Loss clinics started popping up, especially after gastric bypass surgery (GBS)  became all the rage in the mid-90s.

In my research, I’ve found there are several main types of Medical Weight Loss Clinics featuring different versions of the diet new GBS patients are put on. The main types of Clinics will:

  • provide a comprehensive initial examination and consultation with a nurse and a physician (follow-ups are typically done by a nurse or counselor);
  • give you a weekly injection, either of vitamins and amino acids or human growth hormone;
  • provide a weeks’ supply of appetite suppressant, commonly phentermine;
  • require weekly visits (you won’t get your weekly shot or appetite suppressant without the visit);
  • require supplements such as calcium, multivitamins, and potassium (some programs include a month supply of supplements with your initial visit; most do not);
  • emphasize a specific dietary strategy ranging from a strict caloric restriction to a shake-based diet, to simply modifying portion and type of food. The one thing they all have in common is an emphasis on lean proteins and low carbs.

In my experience, Medical Weight Loss does work, but only upon selecting a plan and provider that works for you. I chose a clinic that

  • included my supplements in my initial visit, saving me at least $50;
  • did not restrict my caloric intake or require me to drink shakes only – I really need to learn to eat normal food in healthy proportions so my weight stays off for a lifetime;
  • didn’t require me to count calories, points, or whatever. I simply have to aim for high protein -low carb, which is rather intuitive.
  • gave the MIC (B12/amino acid) injections rather than the HcG (human growth hormone), simply because the thought of being injected with a hormone freaked me out a little; and
  • had a friendly and concerned staff, after all, I was going to see them every week!

One thing I have found with the whole process is that the clinic is only partially responsible for weight loss; I can’t say for certain whether the injections, vitamins, or counseling is making a difference, but the appetite suppressant helps me curb my “free-willy” munching and gives me the willpower I once lacked in dieting.  Being accountable during my weekly visits also forces me to stick to it – I can’t imagine going in there and seeing I gained weight!

In the end I know that  I am the reason for my diets’ success; it isn’t because I’m being restricted or given a shake to drink every day. It’s because I’m eating better, paying more attention, and being given the tools I need to succeed. Medical Weight Loss makes it easy for me to do the right thing.

No comments yet

Leave a comment